An Amendment to My Previous Post:

I got a lot of feedback from many of you on my previous post on anxiety meds.  I was so glad to hear many of you found solace, or comfort, or company in that post.  But of course, I was sad to hear it too: because that means you also have your share of anxiety woes.

I feel a bit remorse about the fact that I didn’t outline my feelings about anxiety meds.  I gave you my history of taking them, but not what I thought about that history.

I don’t like pharmaceutical medications one bit.

I don’t like giving money to big pharma, nor do I like putting chemicals in my body.  I believe food should be our medicine, I believe our breath should be our guide to relaxation.  But sometimes, well, ain’t nobody got time for that.  So I tried Zoloft, was really unhappy with that process, dumped it, and now I will start Lexapro tomorrow.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Also, I am making an appointment with the People’s Organization of Community Acupuncture in my neck of the woods.  A friend wrote me after my last post, alerting me to their presence in her life, and the impact acupuncture has had.

I went to acupuncture once, and it had a profound effect on me.  But then I couldn’t find an affordable place to go for it after that one trial time, and so I just didn’t think it was in the cards for me as a treatment method.  And with this, I will also let you know how it goes.

Anxiety is a tough nut to crack: without meds, it takes a lot of concentration and persistence to treat.  One must daily, sometimes moment by moment, be aware of thought patterns and breathing and diet and exercise.  And sometimes all that is too much, what with, oh, the rest of your life happening too.  And for some people, their anxiety is so high that meds are the only way to control it, the only way to enjoy their life.  But for me, I think a combination of methods works best: some talk therapy, some acupuncture or other body work, some low dose meds, exercise and a good diet.  Those are the ways I want to control my anxiety, and hopefully, with some diligent practice, I can one day go off the meds entirely.

I just wanted to make this little amendment because I really do hate the drugs, and the side effects, and the companies that make them.  I hate feeling deficient because I need them to live a reasonable life, one with moments of joy and relaxation mixed in with the anxious, worry filled ones.  But this Rx approach works, for now–it lets me have a good time now and again, for now.

Anyway, I hope this post encourages you to seek out the methods of mental health treatment available to you that give you the best quality of life with the fewest side effects, I hope this post gives you hope, and a moment of pause to consider alternative treatments to replace or support your current Rx plan.

Be nice to yourselves,
Your Pal Eli

One thought on “An Amendment to My Previous Post:

  1. I was on the medication roller-coaster for years. It started off in my teens. Each to their own, but now I have a very measured and controlled relationship with alcohol. That probably sounds awful- but if one measures carefully and knows what they’re doing, (and doesn’t move the goal posts) it can work really well.
    BTW I’m not recommending alcoholism 😀

Leave a Reply

