To T or not to T

I want to thank all of you who took the time and made the effort to respond to the questions I posted here a few days past, when I inquired into your experience with T.  I respect your personal journeys, and think of you all often when I am considering my body, my choices for my body, and wonder what other people have struggled with before me when facing these same choices.  In some ways you folks are my family, and I really take your opinions seriously.  I am so lucky you took the time to give those thoughts to me.

I think that I am giving myself one year to lose a few pounds (I am a healthy weight, it’s more of converting 5 lbs of fat into muscle, rather than losing weight, that is my desire) in order to have a good exercise routine in place before I start taking a hormone that is going to drive my appetite through the roof.  Biologically I am a 34 year old female, and my metabolism is not that of a 14 year old boy.

I don’t feel a great deal of dysmorphic struggle, the kind that would put me on T now, like right now.  I outlined the pros of it for me in my last post, but there are some real cons (liver trouble?  acne?  weight gain?  loss and growth of hair?) that give me pause.  For me, the risk of acquiring new health issues directly related to taking T are not worth the physical benefits of taking T.

So, for now, I am going to take a year to reflect with my therapist, talk to an endocrinologist, and work on getting this body into the kind of shape my current hormones allow for: I can build muscle, I can slim my waist a bit, all without T.

So someday, if down the road I decide to take it, I will know I did everything I could to attain good physical and psychological health before introducing additional hormones into my body.

Thanks again for your opinions and support.

Be nice to yourselves,
Your Pal Eli

8 thoughts on “To T or not to T

  1. It’s definitely not a decision to make quickly. Getting as healthy as you can before hand is wise as is talking to the various members of your medical team. You may well decide you don’t need or want T.

  2. You’ll be ready when you’re ready. I always say there has to be something that tips the scale, and for you it doesn’t, yet. And it maybe won’t, ever. No need to rush.

  3. You can make it work either way. My instinct would be to tell you to avoid it, but that’s easier said than done- and hey, I’m a 2 pack a day smoker, so who am I to give health advice 😀

  4. Every time I take a break from blogging, I seem to miss everything, and I apologise. I would have been unable to comment on your last post with anything of interest anyway (one week on T doesn’t give much leeway for changes…), but I wanted to chime in to say your logic here is irrefutable – because I’m especially proud of my nerdiness at the moment for some strange reason – and you’re in a good position to know what you need at any one time.

    Trust yourself. That’s all I can say. Erring on the side of caution is always the best idea with Things Of This Magnitude With Capital Letters, so your brain’s already primed to keep the rest of you informed 😉

    -JC

  5. I agree with everyone else. I’ve used excuses for about 2 years, and now I’m just itching at the chance to start T. Weird how life goes like that.

  6. Pingback: Dr. Miller and the Floppy Receptionist: A Hormonal Love Story | My Life Without Tits

Leave a Reply

